All about remembering names

In my career I’ve done a LOT of networking. In fact, I started a group that has become one of the largest business networking groups in Michigan: Motor City Connect. This experience has led me to a career in speaking. As such I get to meet a lot of people. 

It’s great. I love it. I’m always happy to meet new folks and find out how I can be of assistance. One of the things I’ve noticed along the way is just how much we all enjoy similar things.. Most of have the same favorite topic: ourselves and the same favorite sound: our name. 😉

We also seem to have the same challenge: Remembering people’s names. I hear it all the time. “I have trouble remembering people’s names”. “What’s a good tip to remember people’s names?”

Here’s the truth: you can’t remember something you never knew.

What I mean specifically is that most of us are so busy thinking about what we’re going to say to make a “great first impression” that we aren’t fully focused on the person we’re meeting. 

Picture it, you’re being introduced to someone. Your first thought is how am I going to get this person to like me or get my point across? As those thoughts are spinning through your head the person who is introducing you says their name and then says your name. The sound of your name snaps you back into the moment, but just a second too late. 

You’re faced with a dilemma…do you ask them to repeat their name or do you just carry on? (Pro-tip always ask them to repeat it). Most people are too embarrassed to ask. Believe me it’s a lot worse to not ask.

I have a client who can make sure your name is remembered every time. Want to know how? Get yourself a snazzy engraved name badge. It works like a charm and can extend your brand. Take a look at some of the work Stadium Trophy does with Engraved Name Badges.Go to the site as there are more examples than this…

Image

 

Here’s another good idea for remembering names. Go check out my friend Michael Angelo Caruso’s blogpost on the topic.

One thought on “All about remembering names

Leave a comment