Are you playing this life too small??

I think I am.

Who am I kidding. I know I am. But most of us are, right?

Sure we may have moments of greatness where we feel like we are playing to our full potential. But how often do those really happen? More importantly how do you have more of those? I’m reminded of the line “It only takes 20 seconds of insane courage” from the movie “We Bought a Zoo”. Add that to your daily recipe and see how much further ahead you are in a month and a year.

I think it many ways it comes down to knowing exactly who you are and who you are trying to be.

For most people there is a HUGE difference between the two. How often do we see people with plenty of G-d given talent that isn’t coming close to being realized in their daily life? It’s the same story over and over…”I love to do X, but Y is what pays the bills”. Curse you, you stinking bills!!!!

I’ve been doing a lot of soul searching recently about BEing me and HAVEing what I want. They are both very tied to the DOing, aren’t they? I allow myself to frequently to NOT do the things I know need to be done. It’s because DOing those things is based on HAVEing…not BEing. It’s time to live a life that I will continually feel great about. Interestingly for me, that means helping others live a life they will feel great about too. My goal is to make sure my light shines so brightly that those who aren’t ready for it, may have to look away. Perhaps, those who are ready will step closer.

Part of my challenge will be to continually find new things to fuel that light. Fortunately, Timothy Gay posted an amazing video on Facebook the other day and tagged me. One of the last lines in this video summed up my greatest fears so well. It’s not really about playing too small, it’s about being scared to play too large. Truth is, anyone you’ve ever heard of has this fear and occasionally figures out how to conquer it.

Check out the whole video “The American’T Dream- The Purse Suit of Happyness” by @Sulibreezy. The man is a brilliant spoken word poet who is all kinds of deep. As an added bonus he has a cool accent ;-)

Let me know about the challenges you face and if there is anything I can do to help move you through them.

Be connected-

Terry

One thought on “Are you playing this life too small??

Leave a comment